A letter to the king of Norway from young Norwegians with ME

Letter to King Harald of Norway from Martin and 58 other young people with M.E.

ME mum’s confessions proudly presents an important letter to King Harald from Martin (17). The letter is also signed by 58 other children and youngsters with M.E. (Norwegian original)

A shortened version of the letter was published in the leading Norwegian newspaper aftenposten.no and was also in the printed paper. In the paper, this was an important contribution to the ongoing debate on M.E. We recommend reading the full version. Both the letter and the following quotes make a strong impression.

Dear King Harald,

I write to You because You are our King and have shown that you care about the weak in our society. I also know that you are concerned about children’s and young peoples’s situation in Norway. I write primarily on behalf of my brother and me, but also for many other children and young people suffering from the disease M.E. or myalgic encephalopathy. Having lived with this disease most of my life, I increasingly ask myself the question:

Is Norway really the best country in the world to live in for everyone?
Living with M.E. is a terrible situation by itself, but that’s not why I’m writing to you. I write because especially children with M.E. and their parents today are terribly distrusted and misjudged …”

http://fryvil.com/2015/02/05/letter-to-the-king/

0 Responses to “A letter to the king of Norway from young Norwegians with ME”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

